Sibener Group Website



The Advisor

Scientific Geneology

Eisendrath Chair History


Our Labs


Group Members

Group Events & Pictures







Postdoctoral and Student Opportunities Available!


The Sibener Group celebrating Julia's graduation (from left to right): Sarah B, Blake, Michelle, Genevieve, Sarah W, Julia, Steve, Michael, Kevin, Josh, Jasper, Mark, Yue, and Caleb. August 15th, 2022

Welcome to the laboratories of Professor Steven Sibener. Our interests include chemical physics, physical chemistry, nanoscience, surface science, and materials research. This group web page is a survey of who we are and what we are about. Our current affiliations include the Department of Chemistry, the James Franck Institute, the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, and the Institute for Molecular Engineering. An additional short summary can be found in the Department of Chemistry's online brochure. For a more in-depth discussion, please feel free to contact any of us or stop by if you are ever in the Chicago area.

Click on a subject to learn more

Sibener Group at the 2019 Gordon Research Conference on Dynamics at Surfaces


Representatives from the Sibener Group attending the Gordon Research Conference (from left
to right): Steve, Sarah B., Rachael, Michelle, Dan Killelea (former group member: tenured
faculty at Loyola University), Julia, and Becca. July 30th, 2019

Sibener Festschrift
Steven J. Sibener honored in special Festschrift issue of the Journal of Physical Chemistry C, July 2nd, 2015

Click the cover above to go to the issue, or here for more information.








Recent News:

January 1st
Congratulations to former graduate student Michelle Brann, whom has completed her NRC Fellowship at NIST and is now a postdoc with Karin Öberg's astrochemistry group in the Astronomy Department at Harvard.

October 7th
Congratulations to Steve for winning the ACS 2023 Remsen Award! This award was established in 1946 to honor individuals for achieving the highest standards in teaching and research in chemistry, and includes a notable cohort of prior winners: Steve will accept the award in 2024 at Johns Hopkins University.

September 13th
Congratulations to Josh Wagner for winning first prize at the 2023 AVS Prairie Chapter Annual Meeting for his poster presentation on interfacial reaction dynamics!

July 1st
Congratulations to former postdoc Dan Killelea upon his promotion to Professor of Chemistry at Loyola University Chicago. Well done Dan!

All News