Sibener Group Website



The Advisor

Scientific Geneology

Eisendrath Chair History


Our Labs


Group Members

Group Events & Pictures







Postdoctoral and Student Opportunities Available!


The Sibener Group celebrating Kevin's graduation (from left to right): Jeff, Darren, Becca, Sarah, Ross, Julia, Kevin, Steve, Jon, Ali, Michelle, Tim, Kevin, Zack Hund (former group member: faculty at University of Chicago Laboratory School), Dan Killelea (former group member: tenured faculty at Loyola University), and Jacob. October 25th, 2017

Welcome to the laboratories of Professor Steven Sibener. Our interests include chemical physics, physical chemistry, nanoscience, surface science, and materials research. This group web page is a survey of who we are and what we are about. Our current affiliations include the Department of Chemistry, the James Franck Institute, the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, and the Institute for Molecular Engineering. An additional short summary can be found in the Department of Chemistry's online brochure. For a more in-depth discussion, please feel free to contact any of us or stop by if you are ever in the Chicago area.

Sibener Festschrift
Steven J. Sibener honored in special Festschrift issue of the Journal of Physical Chemistry C, July 2nd, 2015

Click the cover above to go to the issue, or here for more information.

Click on a subject to learn more








Recent News:

September 6th
Congratulations to graduate student Tim Grabnic for winning the graduate student poster presentation competition at the 2018 Annual Prairie Chapter Meeting of the AVS. His poster, coauthored with graduate student Ross Edel, was entitled “Oxidation and Ablation of HOPG Using Supersonic Beams of Molecular Oxygen Combined with STM Visualization”.

May 14th
Welcome to Dr. Rachael Farber, the Sibener Group's newest postdoctoral scholar. Rachael received her doctorate in Physical Chemistry at Loyola University Chicago. She has won several national prizes for her doctoral research, including both the 2017 Morton Traum Award in Surface Science and the Nellie Yeoh Whetten Award from the AVS

May 2nd
Congratulations to graduate student Alison McMillan, whom has been awarded this year's Helen Sellei-Beretvas Graduate Fellowship in Chemistry

March 1st
Congratulations to Dr. Ryan Brown, former Sibener Group graduate student, who has accepted appointment as Assistant Professor at Clarkson University’s Department of Chemistry.

All News